History of the IPL

IPL history began in 2007. It is the Indian Premier League where the top ten teams from different cities of the country participate. It was founded by the BCCI organization (Board of Control for Cricket). The meetings are most often held between March and May. The tournament generates interest among cricket fans.

Indian Premier League, Indian Premier League 2007/08 score, Match schedules, fixtures, points table, results, news

IPL history: main points

Cricket for India is like a religion. At first, the Twenty20 format was presented to the inhabitants and visitors of the country. Further development of the industry depended on the BCCI. A vice president of the organization called Lalit Modi is considered the founder of the Indian Premier League. The competitions in which the English soccer club participated were used as a model. As a result, the IPL supplanted the ICL, the founder of which is considered the Zee Group. The latter league refused to submit to the BCCI.

The answer when IPL appear is simple. The Board of Control announced the creation of the league on September 13, 2007. At that time, India won the World Cup, which was held in the T20 format. The start of the first season was set for April 2008. A colorful ceremony in New Delhi was held to attract attention. Lalit Modi spoke in detail about the competition, describing:

  • the rules of the team’s lineup;
  • franchise revenue system;
  • format and prize pool.

A seven-person council must oversee the matches. It is chosen from BCCI officials and ex-players. The top two teams qualify for the matches each year. They are chosen based on T20 results. According to Lalit Modi, they had been working on the idea for about two years.

The owners of the Indian Premier League were chosen through an auction. The first auction was held on January 24, 2008. The total value of the franchises was approximately 400 million USD. The cities where the teams were based were determined. These included:

  • Mumbai;
  • Bangalore;
  • Mohali;
  • Chennai;
  • Calcutta;
  • Delhi;
  • Jaipur;
  • Hyderabad.

The ICL closed at the time of the first matches of the rival league. The latter expanded on March 21, 2010. Before the fourth season, two franchises joined it. These are Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India. The first team was disbanded due to a violation of the terms of the competition. The second left the league in 2013. The franchise was not resold due to the lack of an official bank guarantee.

All IPL-bound umpires, referees clear Covid-19 tests’ | Cricket News – Times of India

In 2022 there was information about the desire to create a women’s league analogue. Six teams were announced to participate. They will play in games scheduled for 2023. The new organization will replace the Women’s T20 Challenge. The latter association is controlled by the BCCI. It has competitions that include four matches. They are held at the same time as the playoffs.

Facts about IPL history and other interesting things

Spectators are not only interested in IPL history. There are six facts that stadium-goers will pay attention to:

  1. Mumbai Indians were the most frequent winners. Chennai Super Kings are three-time winners, Kolkata Knight Riders are two-time winners.
  2. Teams of players are purchased through auctions. Auctions have been held since IPL 2016. Thanks to the sale, Sanjeev Goenka became the owner of Rising Pune Supergiants.
  3. Due to disqualification, athletes can be suspended from the tournament. In 2015, for example, champions Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were subjected to such a penalty.
  4. Sarfaraz Khan made his debut at the age of 17. In 2016, he played for the Rajasthan Royals.
  5. A five-time finalist was the Chennai Super Kings team.
  6. In the ninth season, a third referee appeared. He is selected among the spectators.

The cricket tournament has found its place on the international stage. The sport is considered a national discipline in India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post